Meet the team

Peter Kerr

Peter is the Chief Executive Officer at Mount Gibson Iron Limited following a long stint as the Chief Financial Officer. Prior to this Peter held the CFO position at Bannerman Resources. 

An Australian Chartered Accountant, he has more than 20 years’ experience in the mining industry in Australia and Canada. 

Having been part of Diabetes Research WA’s board from 1997 to 2000 and impressed by the work of the organisation over a long period, Peter re-joined in October 2015. 

Peter was appointed Chairman in May 2017 and is passionate about research into all forms of diabetes and the prevention of associated complications.

Joey Kaye (Dr)
Deputy Chairman & Medical Advisory Panel Chairman

Joey is a Consultant Endocrinologist and Director of Diabetes Services at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Western Australia.

Joey completed his undergraduate medical training at The University of Western Australia; physician training at various hospitals in Western Australia and completed specialist training in Endocrinology and Diabetes in 2001. Joey undertook a PhD in neuro-endocrinology at the University of Bristol, UK from 2000-03.

Joey also combines the role of Chairman of the DRWA Medical Advisory Panel overseeing the annual DRWA Research Progam.

Sally Bruce

Sally has over 18 years’ experience in estate litigation and succession planning and holds the position of Special Counsel at Jackson McDonald. Estate litigation is a major part of Sally’s practice. She has acted in many family provision disputes and strives to achieve cost-effective mediated outcomes wherever possible.

Sally assists with ensuring DRWA is on the right track and in particular in the Wills and Bequests program.

Janette Lano

Janette is a highly experienced group accountant at Ramelius Resources Limited. Prior to this, she worked at Perseus Mining Limited and Mount Gibson Iron. Janette joined the DRWA Board in May 2017, replacing Peter Kerr as honorary treasurer. 

Janette has a Bachelor of Science in Accountancy and is a member of CPA Australia and understands first-hand the power research makes for those living with or at risk of diabetes.

Living with type 2 diabetes, Janette believes research will change the future for many people at risk of developing diabetes.

SW website.jpg
Sherl Westlund FAIM
Executive Director

Sherl joined the Diabetes Research WA team in 1997 after returning to Perth following a long stint in  Midwest WA as the Clinical Co-ordinator and Health Practitioner at the Northampton Asthma Service and Education and Resource Officer for Asthma WA.

Sherl is dedicated to ensuring world-class diabetes research is both funded and the focus at DRWA. She believes that through fostering and developing trusted collaborations and partnerships within Western Australian, research can grow, thrive and change the future.  Knowing diabetes is one of the most challenging chronic diseases of current times, investment in quality research is vital, necessary and urgent.

Diabetes Research WA Committee Members

Liz Davis.jpg
Liz Davis (Professor)
Board Committee Member & Medical Advisory Panel Member

Liz is the Head, Chronic & Severe Diseases Research Focus Area; Clinical Lead, Diabetes and Obesity Research at The Telethon Kids Institute. She is a paediatric endocrinologist with a long term interest in clinical and translational research in type 1 diabetes in children and adolescents.

Her particular research interest is in ways to improve the lives of children living with diabetes.

Liz McGrath
Committee Member

Liz is a writer and communicator with more than 25 years’ experience working in Australia, London, and New York. Recently Liz left her position as Media Advisor and Uniview Editor at The University of Western Australia to become a freelance journalist.

Liz has a daughter with type 1 diabetes and is determined to assist in ensuring research remains a focus for DRWA.

Brad Russell-Lane
Committee Member

Brad recently retired from his role of CEO North West Shelf & Vice President Australia Business at Woodside Energy where he worked since 1989. He is now dedicating his time to two WA organisations in the NFP sector adding his skill and expertise where necessary.

He was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of 36.

Brad is a committee member at Southern Capes Motorcycle Club and has been instrumental in building this club up from scratch.

Brad is an advocate for workplace and corporate giving and believes diabetes research in WA is world-class.

Natalie Caudle - Capture Media
Director Public Relations

Beginning her career as a TV and radio news reporter, Natalie founded Perth-based PR consultancy Capture Media in 2004. Natalie uses her extensive knowledge of the media to help DRWA proactively boost the profile and achieve goals.

Medical Advisory Panel

  • Dr Joey Kaye (chairman) - Consultant Endocrinologist and Director of Diabetes Services at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
  • Professor Elizabeth Davis - Head of Perth Children's Hospital Diabetes & Endocrinology Department and;
  • Dr Gerry Fegan - Consultant Endocrinologist and Head of Adult Diabetes Services, Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Dr Seng Khee Gan - Consultant Endocrinologist at Royal Perth Hospital; Senior Lecturer, The University of WA
  • Clinical Professor Tim Jones - Head of Diabetes and Obesity Research at Telethon Kids, Co-Director Medicine at PCH


to advance research
to help find a cure
to raise awareness